Villa Giulia is charming historical relais accommodation overlooking the Adriatic Sea in Le Marche. Set in its own parkland near the town of Fano, the historical residence is just 2 miles from Pesaro and half a mile from the beach, above all perfectly located for a vacation to discover the heart of Italy.
Guests stay in ensuite double rooms or suites with B&B service, or in apartments in the Dependence which is a beautiful farmhouse which lies in the grounds of the estate close to Villa Giulia (less than 100 metres).
The park merges into the family farm olive grove from where you carry on to the Villa's picturesque swimming pool. There are many peaceful corners in the garden with barbecues where you can grill local fish from the Adriatic Sea or meat from the Appennine mountains.
The enchanting atmosphere and the convenience of such airports as Ancona, Perugia and Bologna also make Villa Giulia an excellent venue for small corporate and private meetings, elegant weddings, honeymoons and other celebrations.
Windsurfing, sailing, diving, tennis and horse-riding can all be practised locally, while Rimini Golf Club is about 30 km away and Conero Golf Club 70 km away.
Planes can be hired for tourist flights at Fano Air-club and fishing trips are organised at the port.
HISTORY OF VILLA GIULIA
The residence originally belonged to Eugène de Beauharnais, Napoleon's step-son and Viceroy of Italy. After his death in 1850, the Villa was bought by Count Carlo Ferri, a gifted Fano nobleman, Governor of Perugia and prominent representative of the Papal State.
What we see today dates from 1892 thanks to the will of one of Count Ferri's daughters, Giulia, who her name to the Residence. Giulia had a strong personality and a bright mind and was a great friend of the Queen of Italy Margherita di Savoia with whom she shared a passion for mountaineering. She was the first woman to climb Mont Blanc.
The Villa was inherited by Giulia's niece, the Marquise Maria Pia Tacoli di San Possidonio and became her summer family residence.
During World War II Villa Giulia was occupied by German troops who established there the Fano Military Headquarters to be followed by Polish and British Commands.
In 1946, on the occasion of Marquise Laura's wedding to Count Marco Celio Passi, the Chapel was restored and a new large external door was built. The present owners, the Counts Passi, are pleased to offer guests the opportunity of sampling the unique charm of this delightful place.